Wanderers Academy 3-1 Mariners Academy


The Central Coast Mariners have fallen 3-1 to the Western Sydney Wanderers Academy at Blacktown Football Park on Saturday night in round 9 of the PS4 NPL 2.

Charles Abou Serhal, Kyle Cimenti and Matthew Lecce found the back of the net for the Wanderers while Duncan Stewart was the lone Mariners goal scorer.

Despite being away from home the Yellow & Navy took the game to the Wanderers in the opening stages and looked dangerous early, however the Wanderers opened the scoring.

The Wanderers goal wouldn’t halt the attacking mentality of a determined Mariners though who had a first half equaliser. Sean Pratt played provider and played a deadly ball though to Duncan Stewart who made no mistake with the finish to make it 1-1.

Unfortunately for the Mariners, the Wanderers hit twice in quick succession to hold a 3-1 lead at the break.

Like they have done so many times this season, the Mariners came out flying in the second half but there would be no more goals in the second half and the match ended 3-1.

The Wanderers now sit in equal-first position with Blacktown Spartans on the PS4 NPL 2 ladder, just a point ahead of Marconi Stallions.

The Central Coast Mariners Academy are back at Pluim Park this Saturday against the North Shore Mariners. Kick-off is 6pm. 

Western Sydney Wanderers 3 (Charles Abou Serhal, Kyle Cimenti, Matthew Lecce) Central Coast Mariners 1 (Duncan Stewart)

Blacktown Football Park

Saturday 29 April 2017

Western Sydney Wanderers: 2. Lachlan Campbell, 5. Mathieu Cordier, 6. Cameron Devlin, 8. Charles Abou Serhal, 9. Kyle Cimenti, 18. Oliver Puflett (7. Oliver Wiggin), 22. Matthew Lecce (10. Emmanuel Gonzalez), 24. Tate Russell, 26. Jackson Bandiera, 40. Nick Suman (GK), 50. Tariq Maia

Unused Subs: 16. Jerry Skotadis, 19. Mohamed Al Taay, 20. Daniel Axford (GK),

Yellow Cards: Tariq Maia 83′

Coach: Trevor Morgan

Central Coast Mariners: 1. Adam Pearce (GK), 2. Shelford Dais, 4. Reece Papadimitrios,6. James Enticknap, 7. Lachlan Wales, 9. Brenton Fox (8. Thomas Lyons), 10. Duncan Stewart, 11. Peter Kekeris, 14. Sean Pratt (12. Yerasimakis Petratos), 16. Gianni Stensness (17. Jack Kuipers), 18. Steve Whyte

Unused Subs: 20. Aidan Munford (GK), 5. Jake McGuiness

Yellow Cards: Shelford Dais 41′, Steve Whyte 42′

Coach: Ben Cahn