Ryan, Rose & Zwaanswijk recognised by PFA


THREE Central Coast Mariners players have today been named in the Professional Footballers Australia’s (PFA) Hyundai A-League Team of the Season.

THREE Central Coast Mariners players have today been named in the Professional Footballers Australia’s (PFA) Hyundai A-League Team of the Season.

Goalkeeper Mathew Ryan, together with defenders Joshua Rose and Patrick Zwaanswijk were notified of their achievement and presented with their awards at a media event held at Soccer5s, Tuggerah, to help promote the Hyundai A-League Finals Series.

Selected by their fellow PFA members, Ryan, Rose and Zwaanswijk each contributed tellingly to the Central Coast Mariners- Premiership success, secured on Sunday with a 2-1 over Wellington Phoenix in New Zealand.

For 19-year-old shot-stopper Ryan, his selection in the PFA Team of the Season comes in a campaign that has included selection in a Qantas Socceroos squad, and representation of the Qantas Australian U23 team.

Left-back Rose and Dutch stopper Zwaanswijk have both been mainstays of the Mariners backline this campaign.

Indeed, Rose-s marauding runs and astute defensive play have led to calls for the humble Rockhampton-born flyer to be given his shot in the Qantas Socceroos set-up.

37-year-old Zwaanswijk has netted seven goals this campaign, including six in the Hyundai A-League and one in the AFC Champions League.

PFA Chief Executive, Brendan Schwab, praised the players their incredible A-League campaigns.

“I wish to congratulate those who have been voted into the PFA A-League Team of the Season by their peers and wish the best to all of those now involved in finals,” he said.

Melbourne Heart-s Fred is the captain of the 2011-12 A-League Team of the Season, and is the first foreign A-League team of the Season captain. He is the fourth player to have been selected as captain of the A-League Team of the Season following Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar – 2010/11), Kevin Muscat (Melbourne Victory – 2009/10) and Craig Moore (Brisbane Roar – 2008/09).

The team as selected by PFA members would play with a goalkeeper, three defenders, four midfielders and three forwards as well as five players on the bench. This is the first time that the PFA team of the season has been selected in the 3-4-3 formation. The 3-4-3 formation was chosen, both because it is consistent with the FFA National Curriculum and also to accommodate the two left-sided defenders selected by the players.

PFA A-League Team of the Season
Goalkeeper: Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners)
Defenders: Michael Marrone (Melbourne Heart), Patrick Zwaanswijk (Central Coast Mariners), Joshua Rose (Central Coast Mariners)
Midfielders: Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar), Fred (Melbourne Heart), Mitch Nicholls (Brisbane Roar), Aziz Behich (Melbourne Heart)
Forwards: Paul Ifill (Wellington Phoenix), Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory).
Substitutes: Clint Bolton (Melbourne Heart), Andrew Durante (Wellington Phoenix), Nicky Carle (Sydney FC), Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory), Harry Kewell (Melbourne Victory)

The PFA A-League Team of the Season starting line-up includes five foreign players, and players from five different clubs. Three clubs had three players in the starting team, Central Coast Mariners, Melbourne Heart and Brisbane Roar, while Melbourne Victory had three players in the squad.