Paul Izzo claims 2017 #MarinersMedal


Paul Izzo has earned top honours at 2017 #MarinersMedal after being voted by his peers as the best Central Coast Mariners’ player during the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season. The 2017 #MarinersMedal was proudly sponsored by Aon.

The 22-year-old shot stopper capped off an impressive season by winning the club’s top gong and THREE awards in total at the Mariners’ night of nights, held at Terrigal Crowne Plaza on Friday May 12.

The Mariners Medal is the most prestigious individual award of the night that is decided on a 3-2-1 basis, selected by the players across the Hyundai A-League season in which his peers have deemed Izzo the best player throughout the 2016/17 campaign.

Izzo arrived at the Central Coast Mariners from Adelaide United in July 2015 and made 42 Hyundai A-League appearances in Yellow & Navy.

This season, Izzo managed an impressive 92 saves in 21 matches which was the second most by any goalkeeper in the Hyundai A-League.

Izzo also claimed the ‘Men of Football Damien Brown Medal’, voted by the Central Coast Chapter as well as the ‘Central Coast Mariners Official Supporter Club Player of the Year’.

Roy O’Donovan finished the Hyundai A-League season with 11 goals to secure the Mariners Golden Boot for the second consecutive season.

Skipper, Nick Montgomery was the recipient of the ‘Noel Spencer Goal of the Year’ Award that is presented to the player who scored the most outstanding goal during a Hyundai A-League season. The winner is voted and decided upon by an online poll where the fans chose his 32nd minute strike against the Newcastle Jets as the winner.

Adam Pearce was rewarded for his outstanding season by winning the ‘Foxtel National Youth League player of the year’ award which capped off an exciting 12 months that has also seen him sign his maiden professional contract with the Mariners.

The #MarinersMedal is also about celebrating outstanding achievements off the field. Pat Tatum is one of our most passionate team members and took home the ‘Volunteer of the year award’.

The ‘Chairman’s Award’ is presented annually to one person involved with the Club who is deemed to have gone above and beyond for the benefit of the Club. This season, Tyson Scott (Central Coast Mariners Media Manager) received the award for his tireless efforts with the Yellow & Navy. 

Also on the night, Central Coast Mariners Club Captain, Nick Montgomery officially announced his retirement from professional football. In exciting news for the Mariners, Montgomery has accepted an off-field role with the Central Coast Mariners and will remain a crucial part of the Mariners’ football department. 

Central Coast Mariners Award Summary

  • Volunteer of the year (sponsored by Six Strings Brewery): Pat Tatum
  • Central Coast Mariners Official Supporters Group Player of the Year: Paul Izzo
  • Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year: Adam Pearce
  • Noel Spencer Goal of the Year: Nick Montgomery
  • Men of Football Damien Brown Medal: Paul Izzo
  • Golden Boot: Roy O’Donovan
  • Chairman’s Award (Club Person of the Year): Tyson Scott
  • Aon Mariners Medal: Paul Izzo