Match Report | Glory 3, Mariners 1


Central Coast Mariners’ hopes of finishing the regular season in the Hyundai A-League’s top two took a hit on Saturday, with the reigning domestic Champions defeated 3-1 by Perth Glory at nib Stadium.

Central Coast Mariners- hopes of finishing the regular season in the Hyundai A-League-s top two took a hit on Saturday, with the reigning domestic Champions defeated 3-1 by Perth Glory at nib Stadium.

It was an eventful evening in the west with the Glory taking an early lead via a penalty converted by Scottish midfielder Steven McGarry, before Mariners ace Nick Fitzgerald levelled proceedings from the spot in the 18th minute.

Glory went back ahead in the 71st minute when attacker Sidnei Sciola sent a header from six-yards beyond Liam Reddy, before Central Coast defender Zac Anderson inadvertently sent the ball into the back of his own net with the clock ticking down.

The purple-whites- third goal ought to have been ruled out for offside, with Sidnei appearing to affect play from an offside position when he forced Anderson into action when the ball ought to otherwise have fallen kindly for Mariners custodian Reddy.

The Mariners were denied late on when substitute Bernie Ibini fired home on the angle following John Hutchinson-s initial strike. Ibini was ruled to have been in an offside position when the Mariners- skipper fired his shot, however replays showed the on-loan Shanghai SIPG man was well on side when the Central Coast skipper sent his effort towards goal from the edge of the area.

Following the game Central Coast Mariners boss Phil Moss paid credit to Perth, however said his team could feel somewhat aggrieved having been on the receiving end of two contentious refereeing decisions.

“Full credit to Perth Glory who came out tonight eager to play for their retiring captain Jacob Burns, as well as for Travis Dodd,” Moss said.

“In a lot of aspects we were outplayed tonight, and I expect a reaction next week when we take on Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium.”

“While the penalties cancelled each other out, we believe we were somewhat hard done by by two decisions late in the game.”

“Nevertheless the calls have been made and the game has been lost, so we-ve missed a great opportunity to cement ourselves in second position on the ladder.”

“Overall our performance was below par tonight. We set high standards & raised the bar against Western Sydney last weekend so it’s disappointing not to back that up against Perth. Needless to say we are expecting a lot better in Brisbane next week.”

Central Coast Mariners will complete their 2013/14 Hyundai A-League regular season away to Brisbane Roar next Saturday 12 April 2014. Kick-off at Suncorp Stadium is at 7:45pm.

Perth Glory 3 (McGarry 8- (pen), Sidnei 71-, Anderson 85- (OG))
Central Coast Mariners 1 (Fitzgerald 18- (pen))

Perth Glory: 2. Jack Clisby, 5. Rostyn Griffiths, 7. Jacob Burns (C), 8. Nebojsa Marinkovic, 14. Steven McGarry, 16. Sidnei Sciola, 17. Chis Harold, 18. Jack Duncan (Gk), 19. Chris Harold, 23. Michael Thwaite, 36. William Gallas
Substitutes: 3. Brandon O-Neill, 4. Ryan Edwards, 20. Danny De Silva, 28. Davydas Sernas, 39. Luke Radonich (Gk)
Yellow cards: Griffiths, Clisby
Red cards: Nil

Central Coast Mariners FC: 3. Joshua Rose, 5. Zachary Anderson, 7. John Hutchinson (C), 11. Nick Fitzgerald, 12. Liam Reddy (Gk), 15. Storm Roux, 17. Anthony Caceres, 19. Matt Simon, 21. Mile Sterjovski, 25. Eddy Bosnar, 23. Kim Seung-yong
Substitutes: 1. Justin Pasfield (Gk), 6. Brent Griffiths, 8. Nick Montgomery, 9. Mitchell Duke, 20. Bernie Ibini
Yellow cards: Hutchinson, Bosnar, Simon
Red cards: Nil

Referee: Stephen Lucas
Attendance: 11,127