Mariners sign goalkeeper Yaren Sözer

The Central Coast Mariners are pleased to announce the addition of goalkeeper Yaren Sözer to Nick Montgomery’s Izuzu UTE A-League squad this season.

The 24-year-old was born in Victoria and came through the Melbourne City FC academy. He captained the National Youth League team to a championship, as well as being a part of the A-League squad that won the FFA Cup in 2017. After multiple successful seasons in Australian youth football, he signed with İstanbul Başakşehir F.K. in Turkey, before being loaned to Esenler Erokspor. After a couple of seasons in Turkey, Yaren signed with Perak FC in the Malaysian Super League.

Yaren has dual Australian and Turkish citizenship and while he enjoyed his time abroad, he is ready to return home to Australia and compete for a starting spot at the Mariners.

“After spending 3 years in Europe and Asia away from home, I feel like I have gained a lot of experience and maturity and I believe the timing is right to return to Australia to try and establish myself in the A-League.”

“I’m excited for the season ahead. The Mariners are a fantastic club that has given many players an opportunity to show their ability on the biggest stage. I’m looking forward to working hard every day and I hope it’s a successful season for all involved” Sözer said.

Mariners Head of Football Ken Schembri welcomed the addition of Sözer to the squad as a gloveman.

“We have taken our time to search for another goalkeeper that will add value and depth to our squad.” 

“Yaren has overseas experience, which is rare for a goalkeeper at his age, highlighting his ambition, talent and potential, which fits well with the type of player that we want in our squad” Schembri said.

“Our goalkeeping coach Jess Vanstrattan has spoken of his delight in having Yaren join his ranks and is looking forward to working with him further as the season progresses.”

Sözer joins Birighitti as one of two goal-keepers for the 2021/22 Izuzu UTE A-League season.

Current Squad: Birighitti, Sözer, Roux, Miller, Hall, Tongyik, Rowles, Smith, Hatch, Goddard, Bozanic, Balard, Nkololo, Nisbet, Cahill, Simon, Müller, Ureña.