Mariners Medal Awards Conclude 2020/21 A-League Season

Medal Awards Winners

On Friday afternoon, with greater Sydney in the midst of a COVID lockdown, the Mariners Medal Awards were streamed live via social media.

Players joined the stream live via Zoom as the various awards were presented virtually to their winners, and we reminisced on a fantastic season, culminating in a 3rd place finish and an A League finals appearance for the first time in seven years.

The Mariners Medal is the most prestigious award that the club has on offer, combining the voting of fans, coaches and players to determine the winner. The 2020/21 Mariners Medal was awarded to defender Kye Rowles after an outstanding season in Yellow and Navy!

Special mention to Ruon Tongyik, Kye’s defensive partner for much of the year, who narrowly missed out on claiming the Mariners Medal, falling short by a single point. Ruon did however pick up the Coaches Award after a campaign that included a PFA A League Team of the Season selection and his first Australian cap with the Socceroos in Kuwait.

Both boys now have been called up to the Olyroos squad to play in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

The Fan’s Player of the Season went to midfielder Josh Nisbet and captain Oliver Bozanic picked up the OSC Supporters Player of the Year, returning to Australian shores following a highly successful stint in Scotland with Heart of Midlothian.

Closing the afternoon, CEO Shaun Mielekamp and Head of Football Ken Schembri announced that Nick Montgomery will be undertaking the role of Head Coach for our A League side, following two highly successful seasons with the Mariners NPL and Y-League sides.

Central Coast Mariners would like to thank JC Entertainment who helped make this event possible, along with event sponsors Collaborate.

Full Award Recipients:

OSC Supporters Player of the Year: Oliver Bozanic

McDonald’s Fans Player of the Year: Joshua Nisbet

Yellow and Navy Foundation Newcomer of the Year: Alou Kuol

Hawkesbury Brewing Company 2021 Golden Boot: Matt Simon

University of Newcastle Volunteer of the Year: Frank Pentimalli

Noel Spencer Goal of the Year: Matt Simon (MW15 v Wanderers)

Player’s Player of the Year: Kye Rowles

Coaches Player of the Year: Ruon Tongyik

Chairman’s Award: Gabby Bowles

Mariners Medal: Kye Rowles