Mariners Academy: Winning weekend for seniors

Academy Wrap Web Header

The Mariners Men’s and Women’s Academy sides were both in a winning mood on the weekend, with the Men’s win moving them to the top of the league table after six games, while for Dan Barrett and his team, their first win of the campaign pulled them into the top half of the competition.

The Women started strong against the Shire, looking to bounce back from a first round loss to Northbridge Bulls, and took the lead 19 minutes in through Annalise Rasmussen.

That lead remained until the 79th minute, when Emily Diaz scored her first goal of the game to double the lead, and then scored her second four minutes later to secure the win for the Mariners.

The team will play at home this Sunday, facing off against Nepean FC at Pluim Park in round three and looking for a win in their first home outing of the campaign.

After a midweek win over Blacktown Spartans, the NPL2 Men battled away against Hills United for much of the game, struggling to find a way through until the game entered it’s final 20 minutes.

A long ball sent Damian Tsekenis in behind the defence and he did well to control it wonderfully before finishing past the goalkeeper for his ninth goal in six matches and to grab three points for the visitors.

Nick Montgomery’s side will also be back at home this weekend, taking on Northern Tigers in a Grand Final rematch at Pluim Park on Sunday afternoon.

NPL2 Men v Hills United

1st Grade: 1-0 win (Damian Tsekenis)

U/20’s: 3-2 loss (Aidan Milicevic, Garang Kuol)


NPL2 Women v Sutherland Shire

1st Grade: 3-0 win (Emily Diaz (2), Annalise Rasmussen)

Reserves: 1-0 win (Sophie Holliday)

U/17’s: 1-1 draw (Skye Parkes)

U/15’s: 1-1 draw (Nina Boije af Gennes)

U/14’s: 5-1 win (Claire Denning (2), Cecilia Bradley, Eliza Familton, Grace Rae-Banks)


NPL Boys Youth v NWS Spirit

U//18’s: 3-0 loss

U/16’s: 2-2 draw (Bailey Brandtman (2))

U/15’s: 2-0 win (Kurtis White (2))

U/14’s: 3-0 win (Kirby Wilding (2), Flynn Richards)

U/13’s: 6-2 win (Laurence Taylor (2), Harper Ryles, Isaac Kwon, Harrison Jablonski, Quinlann Barr)